a different sort of wedding

I’ve been playing around with the poem below for quite a few days now, and it’s trying to morph into a song but it hasn’t quite made it there yet.
____________________________________________

whenever failure weds frustration
two wrongs in consummation
the breakdowns come in circles and waves
and certain kinds of failing
just make you feel you’re flailing
but you don’t give up so you can feel brave

but have we come to the end of the road, my love?
Have we come to the end of the road?
You don’t want to go, and I don’t want to stay
We’re just different people, going different ways.

There’s a certain kind of sadness
when a goodbye never happens
suspended in the disbelief, a grain of doubt
and though we both understand
that things did not work out as planned
we never push the big red button to take the easy way out

fatalism is best friends
with the way this story ends
when you expect nothing, it’s exactly what you’ll find
but in the evening when the light is low
and the melodies come nice and slow
I know you’ll always be there in the back of my mind

I’m always going to find you in the stillness of the night
I’m always going to reach for you when things seem right
I’m always going to hold your hand when I don’t have one to hold
I’m always going to be with you, until we get old

but we have come to the end of the road, my love.
we have come to the end of the road.
you don’t want to go, and i don’t want to stay
we’re just different people, going different ways.
we’re just different people, going different ways.

Leave a Reply

