Maybe this time

Maybe this time will be different 

Next time

 

I rolled over one too many times

This hole in the mattress is yours not mine

It might be where my body warms

But it’s just to fill the vacuum of your ever-leavin’ arms

 

I’ve been waiting on waiting for you

waiting for the false to turn into the true

a cover up, a grift, a scam, 

anticipated authenticity became the biggest sham

 

my hands shouldn’t shake with fear

it seems to be your memory that holds me here

and the water runs until its clear that

 Maybe this time will be different 

Next time

 

This rush of optimism isn’t over yet

I’ve still got to bet the farm and then lose the bet

when this field is fallow and nothing will grow

then maybe I’ll learn that it’s time to let go

 

but until then

 

maybe this time will be different

next time

 

Leave a Reply

